Software

IT Managers worldwide are dealing with the virtualisation of servers, storage and interfaces on a daily basis. This makes performance monitoring more and more important these days – and at the same time more complex, so only experts are often able to make sense of it. These topics provided a challenge for us for years and inspired us to develop the optimised applications inhouse.

IT-PS Performance Monitor and IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor are slim line and unique monitoring tools for an end-to-end monitoring (E2E Monitoring) of small IT environments right to complex and fully virtualised enterprise data centres. Both solutions are extremely flexible and adjustable to your requirements. The multi-client capability and role-based access control enable all systems to be monitored centrally – over several different locations and independent departments of a global organisation.

IT-PS Performance Monitor

The IT-PS Performance Monitor monitors all your IT components and combines all collected performance metrics on a clear graph. This enables even system users with little experience to get a quick overview on the performance of the system. The Performance Monitor is the only tool enabling you real-time monitoring across all systems to such high quality.

The IT-PS Performance Monitor requires only ONE monitoring tool for all components:

  • External Storage (e.g. IBM, Hitachi, Netapp…)
  • Fibre Channel Switch (e.g. Brocade, Cisco,…)
  • Virtualisation Layer (e.g. VIO Server, Hyper V, VMware ESX, KVM,…)
  • Client Systems (e.g. IBM I, Linux, AIX, Windows,…)
  • Application

The IT-PS Performance Monitor

  • continuously monitors the end-to-end performance of all relevant IT components and potential bottlenecks
  • alerts you as soon as defined thresholds are exceeded
  • identifies performance differences during low performance phases or e.g. after implementation of a new application or application version and creates automated performance graphs for long term comparison and planning

Take care of your Budget

The IT-PS Performance Monitor provides the perfect tool for you to target your investment in your IT infrastructure precisely according to your individual requirements. This keeps your total costs as low as possible. It shows trends in your infrastructure and you know when the right moment has arrived to re-invest and what investments provide the best cost-benefit ratio for you.

Our customers’ experience shows the IT-PS Monitor „Performance“ Monitor prolonging the utilisation period of their IT by 25%. Instead of having to invest say every 4 years into your system, thanks to the IT-PS Monitor this may be reduced to every 5 years.

Module

System Overview

All monitored systems are displayed with current open alarms and log entries. All pre-defined graphics may be selected via this page too.

Alarms

This module enables you to define threshold values for each and every measured value.
Based on a sophisticated set of rules, alerts are only sent out when it makes sense to do so.

Authorisation System

Individuals or groups of individuals are able to receive separate authorisation for each monitored system as well as for every single function of the IT-PS Performance Monitor. This means for example that internal teams, departments or individual customers are only able to see graphics relevant to them.

SAN Network View

This module automatically generates a graphic display of the SAN environment. This overview shows you immediately whether the desired redundancy has been achieved in SAN. Any deviations are easily tracealbe by comparing the current state with reports from the past.

Automatically Generated Reports

This module is able to generate a daily, weekly or monthly report for every pre-defined or self-compiled graphic. The report is automatically generated at night and the graphics are stored in the file system.

Predictive: Automated Dedection of Performance Anomalities

For the first time in the history of the IT-PS Performance Monitor the classic performance monitoring is combined with Data Science to provide an amazing tool: it is now possible to predict performance anomalities and to take the necessary steps to ensure the continued smooth running of the system. Predictive monitoring as it should be.

In many cases these days it is not enough to monitor just the high thresholds alone, as production problems are also indicated in values that are too low. The following diagram shows the comparison of the CPU utilisation over two days.

The red graph (CPU usage) shows a significantly lower value between 16.00 and 0.00 than in the same interval the second day. The reason is a not running application. By means of conventional monitoring this lower deviation would remain undedected.

The new modul “Predictive” is continously monitoring the reported performance data. As soon as data deviates, the Performance Monitor generates an event. In case of more of these events being generated, the system raises alarm.

Automated Documentation of Power Server, SAN, Virtualisation and Storage Environment

We are aware how challenging it is to keep the infrastructure documentation up to date in a dynamic environment. This prompted us to develope a new and highly efficient modul for the IT-PS Performance Monitor.

The “Automated Documentation” generates an Excel document with all the essential configuration information for Power Server, VIO Server, SAN Switch and External Storage in regular intervals.

On one hand this documents the history of the configuration and on the other hand shows in case of error what has changed. In short: you have all the information at hand you need in order to rebuild your entire environment in case of disaster.

IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor

In regards of IT-Monitoring IBM i is rather exotic in our field of IT. It therefore requires different monitoring from Windows or Linux Systems. This prompted us to develop a solution with the IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor that runs directly in the system and is therefore able to cover all the specific requirements of the platform. Thanks to the IT-PS IBM i Monitor the daily manual task of system monitoring is considerably reduced.

The IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor monitors defined MSGs (QSYSOPR, QSYSMSG, MSGQs applications) and examines whether all previously defined jobs and sub systems are active. Should there be a problem or should some previously defined jobs not be active, the monitoring software is prompted to send emails to previously defined contacts or reports to a central event monitoring solution. In this way the IBM i environment changes from a “blank space” to “familiar grounds” – and the task of “complete monitoring of IT” has been fulfilled proactively.

Would you like to convince yourself of the efficiency of the IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor by experiencing it in operation? We are offering you to test our solution for free for two months!

IT-PS Software

Täglich haben IT-Manager weltweit mit der Virtualisierung von Servern, Storage und Interfaces zu tun. Performance Monitoring wird dabei immer wichtiger – und gleichzeitig komplexer, sodass oft nur mehr Experten durchblicken. Lange Zeit hatten wir mit diesen Themen selbst zu kämpfen; dann haben wir die optimalen Anwendungen im eigenen Haus entwickelt.

IT-PS Performance Monitor und IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor sind schlanke und einzigartige Werkzeuge für das End to End Monitoring (E2E Monitoring) von kleinen Umgebungen bis hin zu komplexen voll-virtualisierten Enterprise-Data-Centern. Beide Lösungen sind extrem flexibel und orientieren sich an Ihren Bedürfnissen. Mandantenfähigkeit und ein rollenbasiertes Benutzerkonzept ermöglichen es, alle Systeme zentral zu überwachen – und zwar über getrennte Standorte oder unabhängige Organisationseinheiten in globalen Unternehmen hinweg.

IT-PS Performance Monitor

Der IT-PS Performance Monitor überwacht sämtliche Komponenten Ihrer IT und verknüpft alle gesammelten Performance-Metriken in einer übersichtlichen Grafik. Auf diese Weise erhalten selbst unerfahrene Nutzer rasch einen Überblick über die Leistung des Systems. Der Performance Monitor ist das einzige Tool, das eine systemübergreifende Echtzeitüberwachung in dieser Qualität möglich macht.

Mit dem IT-PS Performance Monitor brauchen Sie lediglich EIN Überwachungstool für alle folgenden Komponenten:

  • Externer Speicher (z.B. IBM, Hitachi, Netapp)
  • Fibre Channel Switch (z.B. Brocade, CISCO)
  • Virtualisierungs-Layer (z.B. VIO Server, HyperV, VMware ESX, KVM)
  • Client-Systeme (z.B. IBM i, Linux, AIX, Windows)
  • Applikation

Der IT-PS Performance Monitor

  • überwacht permanent die End-to-End-Performance aller relevanten IT-Komponenten und potentiellen Bottlenecks,
  • alarmiert Sie, falls definierte Schwellenwerte überschritten werden,
  • identifiziert Performance-Unterschiede im Problemfall oder z.B. nach Implementierung einer neuen Applikation oder Applikationsversion, und
  • erzeugt automatisierte Performance-Grafiken für langfristige Vergleiche und Planungen.

Schonen Sie Ihr Budget

Mit dem IT-PS Performance Monitor haben sie das optimale Werkzeug, um Investitionen in Ihre IT-Infrastruktur zielgerecht und exakt an die individuellen Bedürfnisse angepasst durchführen zu können. Somit halten Sie Ihre Gesamtkosten möglichst gering. Er zeigt Ihnen Trends in Ihrer Infrastruktur auf und sie wissen damit, wann Sie das nächste Mal investieren müssen und – falls Sie Geld in die Hand nehmen – welche Investition das beste Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis für Sie bringt.

Erfahrungen unserer Kunden zeigen, dass der IT-PS Performance Monitor die Nutzungszeit der IT um durchschnittlich 25 Prozent verlängert. Statt also beispielweise alle vier Jahre in Ihre Systeme investieren zu müssen, ist das mit dem IT-PS Performance Monitor nur mehr alle fünf Jahre notwendig.

Module

System-Übersicht

Hier werden die überwachten Systeme mit den aktuell offenen Alarmen und Log-Einträgen angezeigt. Über diese Seite können Sie auch alle vordefinierten Grafiken auswählen.

Alarmierung

Mit Hilfe dieses Moduls lassen sich Schwellenwerte für jeden einzelnen Messwert definieren. Basierend auf einem komplexen Regelwerk werden Verständigungen nur dann verschickt, wenn es tatsächlich sinnvoll ist.

Berechtigungssystem

Personen oder auch Personengruppen können getrennte Berechtigungen erhalten: sowohl für jedes einzelne überwachte System als auch jede einzelne Funktion des IT-PS Performance Monitors. So sehen beispielsweise interne Teams, Abteilungen oder einzelne Kunden nur jene Grafiken, die für sie auch relevant sind.

SAN Netzwerk-Ansicht

Dieses Modul generiert selbstständig eine grafische Darstellung der SAN-Umgebung. Auf dieser Übersicht sehen Sie sofort, ob die gewünschte Redundanz im SAN gegeben ist. Mögliche Abweichungen sind leicht auffindbar, wenn der Ist-Zustand mit den Reports der Vergangenheit verglichen wird.

Automatisches Generieren von Reports

Für jede vordefinierte und selbst zusammengestellte Grafik kann mit Hilfe dieses Moduls ein täglicher, wöchentlicher oder monatlicher Report erstellt werden. Dies geschieht automatisch in der Nacht; die Grafiken werden im Dateisystem abgelegt.

Predictive: Automatische Erkennung von Performance-Anomalien

Erstmals in der Geschichte des IT-PS Performance-Monitors verbindet sich das klassische Performance Monitoring mit Data Science zu einem mächtigen Tool: Nun ist es möglich, Performance-Anomalien vorausblickend zu erfassen und rechtzeitig alle notwendigen Maßnahmen einzuleiten, um das System rund laufen zu lassen. Predictive Monitoring wie es sein soll.

Heute ist es in vielen Fällen nicht mehr genug, allein die Überschreitung von Schwellenwerten zu überwachen, denn Produktionsprobleme zeigen sich oft auch in zu niedrigen Werten. In der folgenden Grafik erkennen Sie den Vergleich der CPU-Auslastung von zwei Tagen (siehe Grafik):

Die rote Kurve (CPU-Verbrauch) ist zwischen 16.00 und 00.00 Uhr deutlich niedriger als im Vergleichsintervall eines zweiten Tages. Der Grund ist eine nicht laufende Anwendung. Mit einer herkömmlichen Überwachung bliebe diese Unterschreitung unbemerkt.

Das neue Modul „Predictive“ überwacht die gemeldeten Performance-Daten permanent. Weichen die Daten ab, generiert der Performance Monitor ein Event; treten mehrere dieser Events auf, schlägt das System Alarm.

Automatische Dokumentation von Power Server, SAN, Virtualisierungs- und Storageumgebung

Wir wissen, wie schwierig es ist, die Infrastrukturdokumentationen in einer dynamischen Umgebung aktuell zu halten. Daher haben wir für den IT-PS Performance Monitor ein neues, hocheffizientes Modul entwickelt.

Die „Automatische Dokumentation“ erstellt in regelmäßigen Intervallen ein Excel-Dokument für Power Server, VIO Server, SAN Switch und Externen Storage mit allen essenziellen Konfigurationsinformationen.

So lässt sich einerseits die Historie der Konfiguration dokumentieren, andererseits im Fehlerfall erkennen, was geändert wurde. Kurz: Sie haben alle Informationen zur Hand, die Sie brauchen, um im Desasterfall die gesamte Umgebung neu aufzubauen.

IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor

In Sachen IT-Monitoring gehört IBM i zu den Exoten. Als solcher braucht es eine andere Überwachung als Windows- oder Linux-Systeme. Daher haben wir mit dem IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor eine Lösung entwickelt, die direkt im System läuft und so auf alle Spezifika der Plattform eingehen kann. Der tägliche manuelle Aufwand bei der Systemkontrolle lässt sich dank IT-PS IBM i Event Monitoring erheblich reduzieren.

Der IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor überwacht definierte MSGs (QSYSOPR, QSYSMSG, Applikations-MSGQs) und prüft, ob alle vorab definierten Jobs und Subsysteme aktiv sind. Tritt ein Problem auf oder sind vordefinierte Jobs nicht aktiv, verschickt die Überwachungssoftware E-Mails an vordefinierte Empfänger oder meldet in eine zentrale Eventmonitoring-Lösung ein. Auf diese Weise wandelt sich die IBM-i-Umgebung vom weißen Fleck zum wohlerforschten Territorium – und die Vorgabe „gesamte Überwachung der IT“ ist sogar proaktiv erfüllt.

Möchten Sie sich im Echtbetrieb vom IT-PS IBM i Event Monitor überzeugen? Testen Sie unsere Lösung zwei Monate lang kostenlos!